[Chat] Books that defied expectations

2017BEST BOOKS SO FAR.png

Hey team. How is everyone?

This is just going to be a really quick post today, but I wanted to have a chat about books that turned out to be better than I had expected. Some of these books I waited a while to pick up until the hype died down, others I just forgot I was interested in, but they all share the same thing: I was surprised AF to find that I loved these books.

I’m only going to break down a couple of these books as I’m writing this I should really be preparing for a big meeting I have at work. As much as I don’t feel like adulting today, the universe has other plans. Sigh.

Let me know in the comments which book or series surprised you the most.

City of Bones – My mum read this entire series before me. My mum. She’s cooler than me. I had no interest in reading this before the TV show Shadowhunters came on the scene but once I saw the first episode, I thought I should check out the source material for myself. Holy shit did it blow my mind and I ended up reading the entire series in about 10 days. If you want to check out my review, here it is.

Cursed Child – Part of the reason I enjoyed this is because I didn’t see it as a follow on from the series, I saw this as a standalone story set in the same world and featuring characters we know and love. I enjoyed going on an adventure with Albus and Scorpius, I enjoyed rediscovering some of my favourite characters and I appreciated the attempt at throwing the audience a massive curveball. I can see why this wouldn’t be for everyone and maybe die-hard fans of Harry Potter would be able to pick out what I’m sure are many flaws, but I can in no way fault a book that had me glued to the pages and made me feel all kind of emotions. If you want to see my spoilery rave, check it out here.

Love, Rosie – I never used to be a big romance reader so I picked this up on a whim. It fast became a favourite book of mine an when the movie was released, I immediately snapped that up too. Love, Rosie features all the classic romance tropes I didn’t know I enjoyed and since it is coupled with great writing,

Throne of Glass – Do you like adventure? Do you like magic? Do you like mysterious brooding hotties? Do you like girls kicking ass and taking names? If you answered yes to any of these then you need to pick this up right now! The Throne of Glass series has fast become one of my favourite series and is one of few that I pre-order the second I can. Sarah J. Maas has created one of the most intriguing worlds for these characters and just when you think you know what is going on, she throws a fucking curveball at you that keeps you coming back for more.

Other books that took me by surprise:

6 thoughts on “[Chat] Books that defied expectations

Leave a Reply

