[Chat] AVA Readathon Wrap Up

image

Well April is over. That happened quickly.

I want to give special thanks to Aimal for creating this awesome readathon that kicked my ass into gear and helped me tackle my ARCs. This was such a fantastic readathon that you should definitely get involved in the next time it pops up.

I thought I would do a super quick wrap up of all the books I made it through with mini reviews for each. These are all the books I planned on reading however I only managed to get through 5 in the end, a pretty good effort I think.

The Changeover: Margaret Mahy has a wonderful way with words. Her writing is incredibly detailed and she has a fantastic ability to make her characters jump off the page. Unlike most books these days that tend to be too long, I wish this hadn’t been so short. I was incredibly addicted to the writing and the characters that I would’ve happily stuck with this for another 100 pages.

But Then I Came Back: As far as YA contemporary books go, this really hit the mark. The story follows a young girl Eden as she wakes up from a coma after a month and finds herself having to acclimate into her former life. Not without its flaws, this book is a great YA contemporary read to keep on your radar.

Firstborn: This was everything I wanted and more. So fast paced and hitting the action right off the back of book one, Tosca Lee has put out another stellar book.  Audra and Luka both receive some great character development in this book and I couldn’t be happier with their journey. This has all the same twists and turns that The Progeny had and is an edge of your seat thrill ride.

The Evaporation of Sofi Snow: I mean, its not that I thought this would be bad, I just didn’t expect it to be as good as it was. I read this in one day because I couldn’t put it down. Set in a vivid future, this book is fast paced, action packed and populated with strong, witty characters. Made up of a diverse cast and lead by a badass woman, this is a book you are going to want to get your hands on.

The Names They Gave Us: Emery Lord, you contemporary queen. This was fantastic and gave me all the feels. I loved all of the characters. They were well thought out and bought so much life to the story. I love when there are strong bonds between friends and family and there was no lacking that in here. Definitely a heartbreaking read but a must if you love a good YA contemporary.

Let me know below what your favourite book you read in April was.

Leave a Reply

