[Tag] Bookshelf Scavenger Hunt

This

BOOKHAUL(3)

So I can’t remember where exactly I saw this tag and all I have in my calendar is the title and the clues, so if you did this recently and think I stole it off you, let me know and I’ll link back to your post.

Alright, lets get into it. All you have to do is head to your bookshelf, check out the clues and find a book that corresponds with it. I assume you are supposed to post pictures of each book you find but I am too busy/lazy to handle that nonsense. If you have the time, definitely add some pictures to yours. Lets go.

Where possible, I have linked to the cover versions I own on Goodreads.

Find an author’s name or title with the letter Z in it: One of my all time favourite books The Shadow of the Wind was written by the wonderful Carlos Ruiz Zafon. I think this book and The Book Thief by Markus Zusak are my only “z” authors.

Find a classic: My copy of the Catcher In the Rye is always prominent on my shelf. I know a lot of people despise this book for a number of reasons but I’ve always loved it and will stand by it.

Find a book with a key on it: Oh my gosh that took so long. Turns out I have zero books with a key on it. I used to own a copy of Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen but I have since unhauled it.

Find something on your bookshelf that’s not a book: So many soy candles and crystals. So many. Plus a couple of photo frames with phrases like “We can bomb the world to pieces, but we can’t bomb the world to peace” and “I heard the purpose of life is to live a life full of purpose” – both of these were heard from the mouth of the wonderful Michael Franti when I attended a protest he performed at her in NZ.

Find a book with a girl on the cover: The cover of Nemisis by Anna Banks has a badass female rocking the cover.

Find a book with a boy on the cover: My version of The Kite Runner has two little boys on the cover. I love this book more than anything.

Find a book that has an animal in it: I’m going to have to cheat and say Hedwig from the Harry Potter books. I quite literally just looked at my bookshelf and mind blanked on what happens in all of my books. Does this happen to anyone else?

Find a book with only words on it: What We Left Behind by Robin Talley. I originally bought this book because I was attracted to the simple yet colourful design of the book cover. You can’t go pass some eye-popping colour.

Find a book with illustrations in it: Tenth Circle by Jodi Picoult. You may know that I love this author with all my heart but I must say, this is not the best book she has ever written. The Tenth Circle features comic book style drawings in it thanks to the creative flair of one of the main characters.

Find a book with gold lettering: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. Ugh, this cover is too stunning!

Find a book written by someone with a common name (like smith): Would we say Sparks is a common name? I own a tonne of Nicholas Sparks books and I think that may be one of the more common names I have. Thought it would be cheating to name Paullina Simons who I also love and own a lot of.

Find a book that has a close up of something on it: I am really surprised that I don’t have many covers with close up things on it. The closest I could get to being in your face close is the cover of Saving Jazz which has a teenage girl on it. If you haven’t read this, you really should because it explores cyberbullying in a confronting way.

Find a hardcover book without a jacket: My copy of Sense and Sensibility. To be fair this did have a jacket when I bought it, but it was completely torn up and I thought the hardback was so beautiful that I put the cover in a frame instead.

Find a teal/turquoise colored book: The closest I have is Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. Did you know that there are a lot of colourful colours for this book? I only just realised and I need them all. 

Find a book with stars on it: I mean, A Million Suns is all spacey and shizz, it would be weird to not include it in this list. Alternatively, I also have a copy of A List of Cages which has some stars on it too.

Find a non YA book: I have so many of these but one of my favourites is The Girl’s Guide to Hunting and Fishing. If you ever find this in a store, pick it up for a hilarious and raw account of being a young woman and juggling family, love and life.

Find the longest book you own: I have a bind up of the Lord of the Rings with amazing illustrations. I picked it up for $20 at a charity booksale and while it smells horrnedous, it is one of my all time favourite books. One day I will actually dive into it, but for now it is taking up a significant amount of space on my bookshelf.

Find the shortest book you own: Why I Write by George Orwell.

Find a book with multiple POVs: Gone Girl is one of my all time favourite books with different POVs. One of the reasons is because I love how it draws out the mystery, and the second is because they are both written so incredibly well.

Find a shiny book: The shiniest book I own is probably A Strange and Beautiful Lavender and that is thanks to the gold accents.

Find a book with flowers on it: I actually have quite a few of these, but on of the books that I recall drawing me in straight away was Earthbound by Aprilynne Pike.

Let me know if you do this tag and I’ll check it out.

3 thoughts on “[Tag] Bookshelf Scavenger Hunt

Leave a Reply

