[Review] A Court of Wings and Ruin

UK

*Potential spoilers so read with caution*

Quick fire review:

Here is my short review…

THIS BOOK IS FUCKING AWESOME AND YOU WILL LOVE IT.

THE END.

“Remember that you are a wolf. And you cannot be caged.”

have-adventures-4

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit—and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well. As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords—and hunt for allies in unexpected places.

have-adventures-5

5 out of 5 stars

Original quick fire:

I don’t even think there are enough words to describe how wonderful this book is.

One thing I love about Sarah J. Maas is it doesn’t matter how many different worlds she creates, they are consistently complex, vivid and full of unique life. ACOWAR is a perfect example of this. The character development in this book is outstanding and the grand battle sequences are diabolical in all the best ways. Everything feels like it comes full circle and I can’t fault one thing.

I’m interested to see where the next few books go as this really felt like a wrap up of the Feyre and Rhys storyline but I know there are more glorious things to come.

Full review:

I JUST NEED YOU ALL TO KNOW THAT I AM NOT OVER THIS BOOK AND I MAY NOT BE FOR A WHILE.

Sarah J. Maas blew my fucking mind with this book.

Team, I tried to keep this spoiler free but it didn’t work so well. While I’ve tried to keep major plot points on the DL, there are some spoilers scattered throughout. The fangirl word vomit cannot be contained. Read with caution.

“Only you can decide what breaks you, Cursebreaker. Only you.”

The world building in this is fucking phenomenal. How so many vivid settings can exist in one story is beyond me but Maas has done a fantastic job of creating distinct worlds that fit flawlessly together. It is part of the reason why I love diving into these books. It was really cool to get to see a little more of the vast landscapes of the other courts as well as take a walk through some of the places that mean the world to Rhys. The library is one of my favourite places in this series so far and its tranquil yet eerie atmosphere was completely fascinating. I also really enjoyed the setup of possible new locations for future books – there is going to be some epic shit coming, I can tell.

A story is nothing without great characters, and this series has some of the best. I’m going to award this book a million stars just for the character development alone.

“I believe that everything happened, exactly the way it had to . . . so I could find you.”

Feyre and Rhysand. The only ship I ever need. Their romance in this is witty, sexy, fiery and complex. Their development individually is outstanding, but I loved the way the changing world around them really forced them to become a fierce unit. These two are by far some of the better crafted characters in the series.

Feyre in ACOWAR feels like a completely different character than the Feyre we met in ACOTAR. She is bold in her choices, still a little naïve but still fiercely protective of everyone she loves. It was interesting to see the internal battle she has when it comes to making choices that will not only impact her family, but her people. The role of High Lady feels like a struggle at times, but is one I believe she truly loves.

I’M JUST GOING TO TAKE A HOT MINUTE TO TALK ABOUT THE GLORIOUS BEING THAT IS NESTA. Holy shit did this bitch get a major overhaul. I love the direction Maas took her in and her unfailing loyalty to Elain in the face of her own confusing and fierce changes is what makes her such a wonderful character. The icy reception she gives Feyre and the Night Court initially felt warranted and true to character, but I’m glad she could come full circle towards the end. I also loved the dynamic between her and Cassian, but I’m glad Maas didn’t fall into the sensibility of giving them an instalove story. At the core of their relationship, I truly believe their bond is rooted in friendship. I’m not going to lie, I’m still holding out for it to happen. Maybe book 4? Please? I’ll pay you money just to make it happen.

Elain is a little firecracker. I knew something major was going to happen with her because no one just gets to sit in a corner in these worlds, but the revelation of what she was and what power she holds was far more than I could imagine. I thought the slow rollout of Elain’s new self was great because she was never an ‘in your face’ kind of character. I am so looking forward to finding out what is going to happen between her, Lucien and Azriel because I have picked my team and in my mind, there is no other option.

I guess I would be remiss to not mention Tamlin. Tamlin and I have been on a roller coaster ride. In ACOTAR, I thought the sun shone out of his ass. Then he went full dickhead in ACOMAF and I thought, you know what, I could do without you. Then he went full circle and received some redemption (after a few more asshole moments) in ACOWAR. The poor guy must be exhausted. For all the wonderful and horrible things he did, his only true flaw was loving Feyre too much. I truly believe that is where his issues lie.

I also want to give a shout out to the Bone Carver and his scary as fuck sister were so, so, so amazing. I really liked revisiting both characters and learning a little more about them. Their history was complex, intense and oh so interesting. The way they were integrated into the story was perfect and I’m secretly hoping they pop up along with their brother later in the series.

“I repeated their names silently, over and over into the darkness. Rhysand. Mor. Cassian. Amren. Azriel. Elain. Nesta.”

One of my favourite things about this series as always been the role of family. In book one we were introduced to Feyre’s sisters, but it wasn’t until ACOMAF when we met the Night Court that I truly understood how important family was to balance out the despair of this world. Mor, Azriel, Cassien and Amren are still as wonderful as when they were introduced in ACOMAF and I never want to see them separated. I would happily read a spin-off series about this crew in a heartbeat.

One more thing. That speech, the fucking speech that Rhys gives where he declares his love for the Night Court, TORE MY FUCKING HEART OUT. FULL TEARS.

If you can’t tell, I loved this book and I’m going to read this over and over again. By far the best book in the series to date. When I started reading this, I wasn’t aware that this was sort of a wrap up for the Feyre/Rhysand storyline but I can’t say I’m mad at it. The story is perfect and I wouldn’t have wanted it to end any other way. Excited to see where Maas takes the crew in the next few books.

THERE ISN’T MUCH ELSE TO SAY BUT READ THIS SERIES.

READ IT.

THE END.

have-adventures-3

Goodreads          |          Amazon          |          Book Depository

One thought on “[Review] A Court of Wings and Ruin

Leave a Reply

