[Review] Pieces of You

34660764I received a copy of this book from Penguin Random House NZ in exchange for an honest review.

Quick fire review:

This is a surprising story about a young girl named Rebecca and the importance of self-love and acceptance. I would implore you to keep it on your radar if you love witty and emotional journeys.

have-adventures-4

Fifteen-year-old Rebecca McQuilten moves with her parents to a new city. Lonely but trying to fit in, she goes to a party, but that’s when things really fall apart.

I couldn’t tell anyone what had happened. Especially since I was the new girl in town. Who would want to believe me?

Things look up when she meets gregarious sixteen-year-old Cory Marshall.

‘You’re funny, Becs,’ Cory said.
‘You have no idea,’ I said, and clearly he didn’t, but I was smiling anyway.
And after that, he was all I could think about.

Cory helps Rebecca believe in herself and piece her life back together; but that’s before he shatters it all over again . . .

have-adventures-5

4 OUT OF 5 STARS

Thanks so much to the team at Penguin for sending me a copy of this book, it was a truly beautiful reading experience.

This book too me a little while to get into but once I was in, it took me completely by surprise. I absolutely adored the characters, the storyline and the way the author manages to so simply tug at your heartstrings in a completely unique and witty way. Pieces of You follows young Rebecca as she tries to adapt to life in a new town. Of course along the way she meets some interesting characters, but none of them are as wonderful as Cory.

I was really on Rebecca’s side from the outset and was rooting for her to get her happy ending. I can see how some people might find her a little annoying as a main character, but I think if you give yourself over to her journey, you really will enjoy this book all the more for it. One thing I will note however is I think it would’ve served both Rebecca and Cory a little more if they had some further character development. There are just a few things here and there that it would’ve been great to explore for just a few more pages.

I really enjoyed this book for a number of reasons, but one of the main ones was the way Merriman dealt with sensitive mental health issues and looked at topics such as self-harm. I never once felt that she was trying to make light of the issues or portray herself as overly confident in her descriptions, she simply did a fantastic job of placing young characters into a world where these challenges are a part of their realities. It really was phenomenally done.

A quick read, this is one you want to keep on your radar. Highly recommend.

have-adventures-3

Penguin Random House NZ     |     Goodreads     |     Amazon     |     Book Depository

Leave a Reply

